LAPD Logo

Home          Community          Resources          Contact Us

Our Department

    
Back Row: Lakes Area Police Department, Front Row: Police Commission Members (2004)

January 1, 2004 marked a new era in law enforcement for the cities of Lindstrom and Chisago City as both cities Police Departments merged to become one department called the Lakes Area Police Department.  The Lakes Area Police Department will be managed by a Police Commission that members include the mayors from each community, one council member from each community and the city administrators from each community.

The Lakes Area Police Department provides policing services for the cities of Lindstrom and Chisago City, which is located in East Central Minnesota along US Trunk Highway 8 in Chisago County.  This is a growing community with a current population of approximately 6000 people. 


Mission Statement

The primary mission of the Lakes Area Police Department is to work together with the community so that we can maintain the peace, provide safety and security for our citizens, reduce the fear of crime and solve problems.

To be successful in our mission requires the commitment of the Administration, every employee of this Department and the citizens we serve, all working together to maintain the Lakes Area Police Department as a trusted source of help.

To Accomplish this mission, the following values must be the basis of all of our actions: 

  • Respect for human life above all else.
  • Reverence for fundamental rights guaranteed to all persons by the United States Constitution.
  • Equal service and protection for all, delivered in a fair and impartial manner.
  • Appreciation for the diversity among individuals of our community and with in our department.
  • Effective, honest, open communication with all citizens, department elements and government agencies.
  • Cooperation among members to achieve team effectiveness.
  • Commitment to personal and professional growth.
  • Progress through initiative, creativity, and openness to new ideas.

The Lakes Area Police Department is a full-time department with an authorized strength of 13 full-time sworn Officers and 1 part-time Officer.  The department operates 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.  Services provided by the department include criminal code enforcement, emergency medical response, animal control, tactical response and community outreach programs.

The Department is currently located in the former Lindstrom Police Department Facility with an Office being maintained in Chisago City.

Lindstrom Location
13292 Sylvan Avenue
Lindstrom, MN 55045
Phone: 651-257-0622
Fax: 651-257-8531

Chisago City Location
10625 Railroad Avenue
Chisago City, MN 55013
Phone: 651-257-0622


Chief Schlumbohm
Chief Schlumbohm
Email: wschlumbohm@lakesareapd.com


Captain Larson
Captain Larson
Email: klarson@lakesareapd.com

L.A.P.D. Staff

For more information on individual staff members, click on their name or to send them an email, click on their email address.

Full-Time

Detective Merchlewitz
Email: mmerchlewitz@lakesareapd.com

Officer Barwin
Email: mmerchlewitz@lakesareapd.com

Officer VanHorn
Email: cvanhorn@lakesareapd.com

Officer Carlson
Email: bcarlson@lakesareapd.com

Officer Spencer
Email: cspencer@lakesareapd.com

Sergeant Varco
Email: jvarco@lakesareapd.com

Officer Haller
Email: thaller@lakesareapd.com

Officer Anderson
Email: aanderson@lakesareapd.com

Officer Quimby
Email: cquimby@lakesareapd.com

Officer Barwin
Email: jbarwin@lakesareapd.com

Captain Larson
Email: klarson@lakesareapd.com

Police Assistant Lind
Email: tlind@lakesareapd.com

Police Assistant Taylor
Email:  ttaylor@lakesareapd.com

Part-Time

Officer Tougas
Email: ttougas@lakesareapd.com

 

Volunteer

Webmaster
Email: webmaster@lakesareapd.com

Community Service Officer Duncan
Email: cduncan@lakesareapd.com

 

 

Home     Department     Staff     Community     News     Programs     Events     Alerts     Public Comments     Resources    
Law Enforcement     Victims     Parents     Individuals     Families     Kids     Teens     Teachers    Contact Us     FAQs     Forms